Thursday, September 28, 2023
HomeSportsGeorgia Bulldogs defeat Ohio State Buckeyes to make it to the College...

Georgia Bulldogs defeat Ohio State Buckeyes to make it to the College Football Playoff Championship

Georgia Bulldogs Georgia Bulldogs have advanced to the College Football Playoff Championship after beating their opponents the Ohio State Buckeyes 42-41 in the second semifinal College Football Playoff game Saturday.

With a deficit of six points in the 4th period, the reigning national champion Georgia made a 72-yard run that was capped off with the quarterback Stetson Bennett’s 3rd touchdown pass of the game , allowing Georgia to gain the lead in the final 54 seconds.

Ohio State used that time to push the ball to the field goal line which set the stage for a 50-yard shot by the kicker Noah Ruggles. However, Ruggles hit the ball left and the Bulldogs won by one point. victory.

Georgia was the very first football team in history to recover from a 14-point deficit in the fourth quarter within College Football Playoff history, according to the NCAA.

Earlier Saturday, No. 3 Texas Christian’s Horned Frogs came into the first semifinal game as the underdogs and pulled off a huge surprise, winning the thrilling win by 51-45 over the No. 2 Michigan Wolverines.

The Horned Frogs, who began this season without being in of Top 25, defeated the previously undefeated Michigan Wolverines 51-45 in the most scoring Fiesta Bowl in history. They were the Big Ten champions entered the game with an advantage of over a score however, TCU never lost the game, thereby securing winning the national title.

Heisman second-place finisher Max Duggan threw for 225 yards and four touchdowns. Running back Emari Demarcado racked up 150 yards running in the Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Arizona.

The Bulldogs will play against the Horned Frogs Monday, January 9 on SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California in the championship game.

TCU will try to win its first national title since 1938 and also the first time for the Big 12 team since 2005 and Georgia is hoping to become the first team to win back-to-back national champions since Alabama in 2011 and 2012 , and the first time a repeat champion has been won during the College Football Playoff era.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments